yardie's reggae collection - artist page



* * * /

2017 - Easy Star Records- studio - discs:1

Royal Royal (Maroon Town, St. James Parish, April 29, 1989) was raised in a Rastafarian household. In 1997, Royal and his family moved to Kingston and he started to hang out with members of the Marley family. Fatty Burrell released his debut single in 2010. Other sings and hits followed. Along with Proteje and Chronixx, he's surely part of the latest Conscious Reggae wave. In 2017 "Lily Of Da Valley" was released as his first album. The set title refers to an old church hymn written in the late 1800s. The recordings took place in many studios, from the Applehead Studio in Woodstock, NY, to Tuff Gong and Big Yard Studios in Kingston, Jamaica, mainly under the helm of the producer Llamar ‘Riff Raff’ Brown. The set comprises new material with the exception of "Modern Day Judas" (produced by Winta James) and "Finally". The album offers a couple of very strong Conscious Roots, lyrichs included. The gems are "Genation", "Moder Day Judas" and "Stand Firm". The rest is a little bit less interesting, too smooth or predictable. Or, as I suppose it's happening at the time of writing (May 2022), Yardie more then ever is looking for something Deeper. Unfortunately there are some low points with "Fool Moon" (Disco All-Inclusive Hotel party style ?) and "Jah Will See Us Through" (no mon, no way). This an artist that in recent years gave us more powerful tracks. Not in Yardie collection, yet. Just heard around. So having said that, keep an eye on Jesse Royal. He is the new generation.

01. 400 Years
02. Genation (feat. Jo Mersa Marley)
03. Moder Day Judas
04. Life's Sweet
05. Real Love
06. Always Be Around
07. Stand Firm
08. Roll Me Something
09. Full Moon (feat. Natty Rico)
10. Rock It Tonight
11. Finally
12. Justice
13. Waan Go Home (feat. Patrice)
14. Jah Will See Us Through




artists - main list

yardie-reggae.com - 2022