yardie's reggae collection - artist page

CLANCY ECCLES (b. 1940 - † 2005)


* * * *

1967-1973 - Trojan - studio - discs:2

This compilation from Trojan covers a crucial period for the Jamaican music: the transition from Rocksteady to Reggae. Clancy Eccles (1940-2005) was both a singer and producer, and the songs presented here are both from him and other singers. His debut was with "Freedom", a song recorded by Coxsone Dodd in 1959. The song was instantly a hit but was manipulated from the politicians. A lot of them did not agree with the proposal for a Federation of the West Indies, and turned instead to look for independence from Great Britain. In 1961 Eccles left Dodd to promote concerts on his own. By late 1966 he started his own Clandisc label. In collaboration with Lee "Scratch" Perry he turned to the transforming new sound: Reggae. It is common say that Eccles named the new sounds adapting the term "Streggae" (woman of loose morals) to describe the new mood. The first hits were Eric Morris "Say What You Are Saying", Clancy's "Feel The Rhythm" and "Fatty Fatty", King Stitt's "Fire Corner", "Vigorton Two" and many many others. These songs are only to name a few but actually by the end of the decade Eccles was working with almost everyone. Clancy claims the title of King Of Reggae and from certain point of view it is abolutely right. The most important musicians and innovators that worked with him were The Dynamites: Ernest Ranglin (guitar), Aubrey Adams (keyboards), Jackie Jackson (bass), Gladstone Anderson (keyboards), Hux Brown and Ranny Bop (guitars). Plus Winston Grennan and Hugh Malcolm on drums. Eccles became politically involved with the PNP party too for the election campaign in 1971 supporting Michael Manley. Dissatisfied from how things were brought on by the politicians he quit every relationship. He continued in the early 70's to produce some important and innovative material. Later he got back to promoting groups and the re-issue of his early productions. This huge two discs compilations (56 tracks!) puts in the right light one of the great producers and innovators of that wonderful period of the Jamaican music when from Rocksteady some new sound was emerging: Early Reggae music!

Disc 1

01. Clancy Eccles - What Will Your Mama Say
02. Hemsley Morris - Stay Loose
03. Eric Morris - Say What You're Saying
04. Clancy, Lee & Sticky - C. N. Express
05. Clancy Eccles & Velma Mongal - Oh My Lover
06. Clancy Eccles & Claudelle Clarke - Two Of A Kind
07. Winston Wright & The Dynamites - I Did It
08. Larry Marshall & Alvin - Please Stay
09. Eric Morris - My Lonely Days
10. Theo Beckford - Easy Snappin'
11. Busty Brown - Here Comes The Night -A classic !!!
12. Clancy Eccles - Feel The Rhythm - A classic !!!
13. Clancy & Velma - Let Us Be Lovers
14. Clancy Eccles - Deacon Don
15. Clancy Eccles - Bag-A-Boo (Don't Brag Don't Boast)
16. The Dynamites - Last Call (Aka Tribute To Drumbago) - A grat and classic instrumental !!!
17. Clancy Eccles - Fattie Fattie
18. Carl Dawkins - Rodney's History
19. The Dingle Brothers - I Don't Care
20. The Dynamites - John Public (Aka Tom Hark)
21. Clancy Eccles - Sho Be Do - A classic !!!
22. King Stitt - Fire Corner - A classic !!! First class Early Toasting !!!
23. Clancy Eccles & Noel "Scully" Simms - Mount Zion (We Want To Go Back Home)
24. Clancy Eccles - The World Needs Love
25. King Stitt - Vigerton 2
26. Winston Wright & The Dynamites - Mr Midnight (Aka Skokiaan)
27. Clancy Eccles & Chorus - Africa
28. Cynthia Richards - Foolish Fool
29. Joe Higgs & Ron Wilson - Don't Mind Me

Disc 2

01. King Stitt & Clancy Eccles - Dance Beat
02. King Stitt & The Dynamites - The Ugly One (Aka Lee Van Cleef)
03. Clancy Eccles - Freedom
04. Lord Creator - Kingston Town -A classic !!!
05. The Fabulous Flames - Holly Holy
06. Larry McDonald & Denzil Laing With The Dynamites - I Fe Layo (Aka The Name Of The Game)
07. Cynthia Richards - Conversation
08. King Stitt & Andy Capp - Herbsman Shuffle (Aka Herbman)
09. The Dynamites - Phantom
10. Barry And The Affections - Love Me Forever
11. The Westmorlites - Zion
12. Joe Higgs & Ron Wilson - Love That Builds
13. Clancy Eccles - Credit Squeeze
14. Barry Wilson - Live And Love
15. Clancy Eccles - Sweet Jamaica
16. Clancy Eccles - Unite Tonight
17. The Fabulous Flames - Growing Up
18. The Fabulous Flames - Hi De Do
19. Clancy Eccles - Rod Of Correction
20. The Silvertones - Tear Drops Will Fall
21. Clancy Eccles - Power For The People
22. Clancy Eccles - Hallelujah Free At Last
23. Glen Ricketts - Send Me A Picture
24. Clancy Eccles - Ganja Free
25. Clancy Eccles - Stop The Criticism
26. Tito Simon -You Can't Be Serious
27. Third World - People Can't You See





artists - main list

yardie-reggae.com - 2007